Tony Ortiz Inducted In the Mary and Al Schwarz Hall of Fame as the Class of 2024 – Wright State University

Estimated read time 2 min read

Wright State Athletics announces 2024 Hall of Fame Inductees

The 2024 Mary and Al Schwarz Hall of Fame inductees are: Kristen Bradshaw (softball), Kim Demmings (women’s basketball), Seth Doliboa (men’s basketball), Jake Hibberd (baseball), Sean Murphy (baseball), Tony Ortiz (athletic department), Jessica Rooma (women’s soccer) and Gabe Snyder (baseball).

“On behalf of Wright State Athletics, I want to congratulate these eight Raiders on their selections as the newest members of the Mary and Al Schwarz Hall of Fame,” Director of Athletics Bob Grant said. “Each of these Raiders played significant roles for our University, athletics department and their respective programs. We look forward to celebrating them soon.”

Tony Ortiz (1984-2017)
As Wright State’s Head Athletic Trainer and Program Director, Tony Ortiz has been associated with Wright State for over 30 years, distinguishing himself not only in the Dayton area but also throughout the state and across the country. Ortiz began his career as the Beavercreek City Schools athletic trainer from 1980-84 before joining the Raiders. Upon his arrival, he not only worked as the Head Athletic Trainer, but was integral in developing hundreds of area athletic trainers throughout his career by developing the athletic training education program. His reach in the athletic training community is vast and was integral to developing the profession across the region. Ortiz has received numerous awards and accolades throughout his career. A member of the Ohio Athletic Trainers’ Association (OATA) Hall of Fame, Ortiz was honored as one of nine national Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer Award recipients by the National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA) in 2001. One of the founders of the Greater Dayton Athletic Trainers Association, Ortiz was recognized as the 1989 OATA Athletic Trainer of the Year, earned the 1999 NATA 25-Year Award, and was honored with the 1998 NATA Service Award, among numerous other awards and honors.

Additional information and for the full article see –

You May Also Like

More From Author