National Hispanic Heritage Month

National Hispanic Heritage Month

Hispanic Heritage Month

The observation, which began as a week in 1968 and expanded to a month in 1989, honors and celebrates the culture, histories, and traditions of people and their ancestors who come from Spain, Mexico and the Spanish-speaking nations of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean.

The following countries celebrate their independence this month:

  • Sept. 15 – Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua all declared their independence from Spain in 1821
  • Sept. 16 – Mexico gained their independence from Spain in 1821
  • Sept. 18 – Chile commemorates their independence from Spain in 1810
  • Sept. 21 – Belize celebrates their independence from the United Kingdom in 1981

By observing National Hispanic Heritage Month, individuals are encouraged to recognize and appreciate the diverse cultures in our community and pay tribute to the contributions Hispanic and Latinx Americans have made to the United States and beyond.

The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Hispanic Americans who have positively influenced and enriched our nation and society.

You May Also Like

More From Author